Offroad Trailblazers and Envoys

Best AT/Mud tires for Snow & Ice?

Need new shoes? This is the place to discuss.

by Laythrom » Sun Aug 11, 2013 3:32 am

Okay, long story short, I'm a bit new to the whole TB/Off Road scene and I am currently trying to research new tires for a future purchase. I am looking at 33 x 12.5 (which is 315/70R17 I believe) but was wondering what the best tires would be for snow and ice. I live in Northeast Ohio and have to deal with that crap around 4 months out of the year. Originally I was looking at the Goodyear Wrangler MT/R until I saw several complaints about winter usage. Honestly, I want a good tire (with decent wear) that is good during the winter and since I'm looking at $250-350 per tire, I don't wish to be suprised. Anyone have any suggestions?
Laythrom

Name: Matt
Vehicle Year: 2004
Vehicle: Chevrolet Trailblazer EXT
DriveTrain: 4WD

by djthumper » Sun Aug 11, 2013 4:20 am

Good luck with what you are trying to figure out. I am sure a few of the guys will tell you what they are running.

Welcome to the site.
djthumper

Name: Larry
Vehicle Year: 2006
Vehicle: Chevrolet TrailBlazer

by v7guy » Sun Aug 11, 2013 4:25 am

The tires that come to mind ( and may not be an A/T) are the Duratracs, the gaurd dogs and I've read some favorable stuff about the Trxus. You'll need to do a little more reading to make a decision. But I think those are a decent place to start.
build thread

All things in moderation, including moderation.
Some people never go crazy... what truly horrible lives they must lead
v7guy

Name: Jason

by boog2006 » Sun Aug 11, 2013 10:41 am

I believe the 315's are 35's and 285's are 33's.

I like the Duratracs so far...but have had little winter weather miles on them.

Welcome!
Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt. - Abraham Lincoln
Boog2006 Build Thread
boog2006
Addict

Name: Brent

by mikekey » Sun Aug 11, 2013 10:49 am