Offroad Trailblazers and Envoys

Fab Body Lift Bumper Mounts

Any special projects involving a decent amount of fab work (bumpers, sliders, roof racks, etc)

by JHogg419 » Tue May 06, 2014 2:12 pm

I am very new to fab work in general. I have welding experience and other metal work experience being a redneck down here in Texas. It is mostly farm work type of stuff. I had bought some body lift pucks from MarkMC but I am still needing my bumper mounts. I was wondering if anyone that has built their own body lift just reworked their factory mounts. I was going to run to the local pick-n-pull and grab the factory bumper mounts off a trailblazer and just raise the bumper side up the two inches I need. Any thoughts on this? I am unable to build from scratch because this is my every day driver and I want to try to make as much as I can before I start the job. If it is just impossible that is fine, but please explain why. Thank you in advance for all the information. :idea:
'A “burro” is an ass, and a “burrow” is a hole in the ground, but your typical English-speaking person can’t tell one from the other.'
JHogg419

Name: Jarrod Hogg
Vehicle Year: 2004
Vehicle: GMC Envoy
DriveTrain: 4WD

by bgwolfpack » Tue May 06, 2014 2:36 pm

Nothing is impossible.

Way easier to use professional built pieces though. Are the pucks 2 or 3 inch? If 2” then contact Zone and ask to buy the bumper mounts only. 3” pucks and you may be screwed.

Guess you could cut out the top of the box frame rail and weld a plate to it. Can’t recall what else is in the way.

Steering extension would concern me more.

edit: Zone Offroad not Rough Country
Last edited by bgwolfpack on Tue May 06, 2014 3:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
bgwolfpack
Veteran

Name: Randy
Vehicle Year: Other
Vehicle: Other Vehicle

by v7guy » Tue May 06, 2014 2:53 pm