Offroad Trailblazers and Envoys

On Board Air

Any special projects involving a decent amount of fab work (bumpers, sliders, roof racks, etc)

by teebes » Wed Sep 09, 2009 2:11 pm

Just quick run down of the latest iteration of my on board air. The compressor has been moved to a utility area in the rear along w/ my secondary battery (which powers the comressor). I have a master switch in series of a viair pressure switch/relay combo (mounted via the tank).

A shop then fabbed up some brackets for the tank, but goofed and mounted it sideways :evil: This tilted the water drain valve to the site - which isn't all that useful. I'm hoping Neil can help resolve this and create a little angle bracket to attach to the bracket thus turning the tank to an 'upright' position. On to the pics:

Overall I'm happy with the location and little extra juice the tank provides. It's a viair 2.5gallon. I didn't purchase a full out viair kit, cause they are way over priced (IMO). Instead, I'm merely using one of their tanks and pressure switches which I was able to get at a discounted price :) Everything else I gathered up myself - so far, so good :)
teebes
Founder

Name: Teebes
Vehicle Year: 2002
Vehicle: Chevrolet TrailBlazer
DriveTrain: 4WD w/ Aftermarket Locker

by Trail X » Sat Sep 12, 2009 8:07 pm

So the drain valve is on the lower side of the T fitting? If you rotate the tank, your pressure switch will be hanging out pretty low eh?

I've seen those pressure switches. I always thought they seemed large, are they adjustable?

I've sorta begun piecing together a kit for myself, and saw these little guys, which seemed a bit more compact and simple:

Also, what made you decide to go with the 2.5 gallon tank? I was looking at a 5 gallon tank. I guess either way you are able to have on-demand high pressure air. It's a matter of deciding what sort of run-time and cycle time you want on the compressor.