Offroad Trailblazers and Envoys

fab with A36 or 1018 which is best for our purposes?

Any special projects involving a decent amount of fab work (bumpers, sliders, roof racks, etc)

by v7guy » Mon Oct 03, 2011 8:41 am

I'm new to the offroad game and have only dealt with work on cars that go fast and don't hit hard things unless they become garbage. Which steel do we like for an off road vehicle?

Obviously 1018 won't bend as easy in an impact and in general is a better steel but A86 is a lot cheaper... but for the obvious reasons. Is 3/16" or 1/4" A86 good enough to hit rocks and trees with?

searches on the interwebs using 1018 or A86 say use aluminum. Maybe my google fu is no good.
Last edited by v7guy on Mon Oct 03, 2011 10:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
build thread

All things in moderation, including moderation.
Some people never go crazy... what truly horrible lives they must lead
v7guy

Name: Jason
Vehicle Year: 2004
Vehicle: Chevrolet TrailBlazer
DriveTrain: 4WD

by bartonmd » Mon Oct 03, 2011 9:01 am

You're over-thinking it... With sheet metal (and even tube), the shape is MUCH more important than the material... See it all the time on Pirate or whatever... A guy builds a cage out of Chromoly DOM, and another guy builds a cage out of poop pipe... They both roll, and the poop pipe cage holds up, while the Chromo DOM cage doesn't... One guy had a good design, and the other didn't...

I just use 1011 (A569... Very similar to 1018) 7ga (.179") low carbon industrial steel on my products, and it holds up great... Yeah, you could go with a better steel or chromo and get the same strength (albeit harder to work) with .165" steel or something, and save 10#; but the steel costs 3x as much, and if you aren't racing, the $/# trade-off is much different... Nobody would buy my $260 radiator skids if they were $400, but weighed 55#, instead of 63#... Same goes for my $165 oil pan skids being $250, or my $350 bumpers being $600...