Offroad Trailblazers and Envoys

Driver's front cv issue…help!

G80, GU6, GT4, GT5, WTF? This section is for gearing and driveline stuff.

by jandhsanchez » Sun Oct 18, 2015 6:11 pm

So I'm new to Envoys/Trailblazers. I just got a 2004 Envoy SLT last week and for the most part I love it. It's great for the family. I have 4 kids and the leather, nice interior, ac, and smooth ride are all perks compared to my last ride. I had a 1992 Landcruiser with 3.5" OME lift with 35" BFG Krawlers. It was great off-road but I needed a more family friendly vehicle and wanted one with some attitude and off-road capability. I stumbled across an Envoy with what seems to be the Liftmeister 2.5" spacers up front and I'm assuming Z71 springs in the rear (or other lift springs) because there are no spacers in the rear and the rear is slightly higher. It also has new sway bar links all the way around. New shocks and struts as well. It's a nice ride for sure and I'm looking forward to making my own and getting a body lift, 33s, roof rack, lights, etc. but I ran into a potential problem this week. It looks like the cv axles are new up front as well with new rotors and pads all the way around. The drivers side cv is making a ton of noise at the diff and there's quite a bit of play as well. When driving it squeaks and clunks and binds while moving at any speed, but more noticeable at slow speeds. When trying to turn the tire while jacked up it moves backward with resistance. It won't roll forward at all while jacked up. On the passenger side, the wheel will go freely in both directions, forward and backward. The videos attached show this. I've searched all over this forum and trailvoy for answers but don't see anything like what I've got going on. There is no tear in the boot, no obvious signs of grease or leaking anywhere. My questions is

Is this just a cv axle issue or is it a differential issue?