Offroad Trailblazers and Envoys

G80 Swap 4.2L I6

G80, GU6, GT4, GT5, WTF? This section is for gearing and driveline stuff.

by crate2002 » Thu Nov 14, 2013 10:05 am

Since I am new to this, I have discovered my TB in fact does NOT have the G80. Thats depressing to figure out when wanting to complete a build. So now I am wanting to do a swap. If I am correct, I have an 8" rear. It has GU6 in the glove box (3.42). What would be my best way to go about this? Whole rear swap or internals swap? I'll have to locate one that is GU6. OR would you recomend changing the gearing front and back to 4.10? Decisions... Decisions... :wallbash:
crate2002
Cruiser

Name: Brandon
Vehicle Year: 2006
Vehicle: Chevrolet TrailBlazer
DriveTrain: 4WD

by Cable810 » Thu Nov 14, 2013 10:30 am

Well it all depends on your mission. The 8.6" axle is much stronger than our factory 8" axle. 4.10s are better for bigger tires but are harder to find, 3.42s are not best for bigger tires but are much easier to find. I'd also suggest to do some reading on the G80 as its not the strongest locker. I'd swap a whole new axle assembly vs having to re-gear your current axle.
The FIRST Solid Axle Swapped Trailblazer in Presque Isle County MI
My Build
The Roadie wrote:Research, plan your mods, fund the plan, then GO DO THEM. THEN WHEEL IT.
Cable810
Veteran

Name: Caleb
Vehicle Year: 2002
DriveTrain: 4WD w/ Aftermarket Locker

by The Roadie » Thu Nov 14, 2013 10:56 am

Many of us swap in 8.6" rear junkyard axles with G80s in them for a few hundred bucks. If your mission involves trails that may put the G80 at risk, there are aftermarket lockers available for the the 8.6 and the 9.5 SS rear axle. None except the Eaton G80 available for the 8.0
The Roadie
Founder

Name: Bill Carton
Vehicle Year: 2004
Vehicle: GMC Envoy
DriveTrain: 4WD w/ G80

by TBYODA » Thu Nov 14, 2013 11:02 am