Offroad Trailblazers and Envoys

What does G80 stand for?

G80, GU6, GT4, GT5, WTF? This section is for gearing and driveline stuff.

by emperor » Mon May 31, 2010 1:15 am

Forgive my ignorance but I'm new to this world. Recently purchased a used 2003 TB LS 4x4 and started surfing the net. Came across this great site. Been reading posts and many people are referring to G80. What does this stand for? Thanks!
emperor

Name: Emperor
Vehicle Year: 2003
Vehicle: Chevrolet TrailBlazer
DriveTrain: 4WD

by Philberto » Mon May 31, 2010 1:19 am

G80 is the glovebox code for an automatic locking differential in the rear, the actual locker is the eaton gov-loc, but is commonly called the g80. If your glovebox options sticker says g80, then you have one.
My Build Thread | 2006 Trailblazer LS Desert Camping Edition **SOLD**
2013 Nissan Xterra S "ReXterra"
Philberto
Lifer

Name: Philip Cruz
Vehicle Year: Other
Vehicle: Other Vehicle

by fishsticks » Mon May 31, 2010 1:26 am

...and next to that will be the code for your axle gear ratio...

GU6=3.42
GT4=3.73
GT5=4.10

Link to ALL the RPO codes for 2003:

http://www.trailvoy.com/docs/vinrpo/2003_VIN_RPO.pdf
11 Silverado LTZ - 6.2L/6l80, 2/3 drop, self tuned
85 Hilux - 3RZ, dual cases, caged, 40s, chromo everything
02 TrailBlazer LTZ - 35s, lockers, balls - Gone but not forgotten - Build
fishsticks

Name: Donny
DriveTrain: 4WD w/ Aftermarket Locker

by badboy2 » Sun Dec 12, 2010 3:20 am

I don't see g80 on mine.So if its not g80, then what could it be?Is there another type of diff?Does it mean if my right rear wheel is not turning my left wheel would'nt turn too?I just don't know i've never been into that situation yet.
badboy2
Cruiser

Name: joseph
Vehicle Year: 2002

by fishsticks » Sun Dec 12, 2010 5:46 am