Offroad Trailblazers and Envoys

flashlights

Discussion on how to enjoy the outdoors.

by v7guy » Sun Jun 02, 2013 7:54 am

I've been playing with flashlights for quite a few years. I rely on them for my and my co-workers safety. For many years I just rocked the normal 2 battery maglight like everyone else, I eventually switched to the LED bulb and while it was an improvement it wasn't a huge difference.
I picked up a Fenix flashlight and can say it's pretty exceptional while being cheaper than surefire and the like. I can use it on one set of batteries for weeks (I use it nightly) and if someone is coming at you, shining it in their face almost always blinds them to the point they are "off target" in their attack/charge. There are plenty of sharp edges to defend yourself with if necessary. The strobe function also draws attention when needed and that was a high priority for me. There are still massively brighter lights, but I like this one a lot. It's been in the cold, the heat and rain with near freezing temps with no issues. It gets beat and smacked around pretty regularly. It's probably the best $95 I've spent. I would def buy again. To be honest I am curious about other lights with higher output though. What are you guys using in your truck, house and on your person?

I carry a LED maglight in my house, in my truck and carry the fenix on my person.

This is what I've been using for daily carry lately.
http://www.amazon.com/Fenix-Flashlights ... _sim_sg_49

what do you guys keep around?

what kind of environments have you had them in?

do you feel they're reliable?

would you get something different?

I'm interested in the extreme but I can't justify the price
http://www.oveready.com/index.php
build thread

All things in moderation, including moderation.
Some people never go crazy... what truly horrible lives they must lead
v7guy

Name: Jason
Vehicle Year: 2004
Vehicle: Chevrolet TrailBlazer
DriveTrain: 4WD

by darring70 » Sun Jun 02, 2013 8:28 am