Offroad Trailblazers and Envoys

Survival Sucks. Know what you're doing

Discussion on how to enjoy the outdoors.

by DirtyBacon04 » Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:29 am

I am an expert in nothing. But know a little bit of everything. Survival skills is one of my passions. This passion came to be due to my love of the outdoors and camping hence inadvertatly finding myself in mild survival scenarios. While for me, long term was never a threat, it's always good to have the knowledge to be able to adapt.

Here are my tips for survival in the wild. Please keep in mind EVERYTHING in a survival situation is circumstantal. I can't tell you exactly what to do because it all depends on what plants i can find, what natural shelter can be found, which way the terrain slopes, cardinal directions, weather patterns, elevation, etc. This is nothing more than a general knowledge thread. This is why i recommend ALWAYS having a knife/multitool attached to your body as soon as you start the trail. Because survival isn't about bringing the proper gear, it's about having NO gear. You cant pack your truck for survival, you can only pack your brain. If you have your truck with you, it's not survival, it's camping. If you're having fun, it's not survival.

Here's the situation. Lets say your out wheeling alone. Stop for a photo op of a beautiful cliff, waterfall, mountain, etc. You slip in mud and tumble down the mountain. Or you fall into a stream and end up down that waterfall. This incline that you tumbled is 500 ft in elevation. Too steep/slick to climb back up to your salvation. Assuming your not funtionally injured, you gather yourself. You cant see a positive way up. So you guess... You head where you think
the trail was further down the mountain, or worse where you think it is ahead. You cross one ridge and you think it's just over the next one. But hours go by and your certain that you should be there by now. But it's just no where to be found.