Offroad Trailblazers and Envoys

Tinted Head/Tail Lights

Trailblazer and Envoy related, but not off-road related...

by mason10198 » Thu Oct 29, 2015 11:06 pm

So, just wondering what opinions you guys have about the tinted lights. Personally, I think it looks really good. Does anyone on here have theirs tinted? I've been reading about it, and it seems that a lot of people say it has little to no effect on your light output as long as you use the right stuff. I'm talking about spray-on too, by the way. Here's what I would probably use if I did this. Included 2 ex. pics I found on Google also. Any thoughts? :poke:
mason10198

Name: Mason
Vehicle Year: 2005
Vehicle: Chevrolet TrailBlazer
DriveTrain: 4WD w/ Aftermarket Locker

by KingBird » Fri Oct 30, 2015 12:46 am

As an electrician, I'm skeptical about any film being applied to a bulb or housing with claims that it doesn't affect light output.

I mean, just think about it, even those crappy faggy blue tinted bulbs are dimmer than regular clear ones. Maybe not by much, but it could be enough to see the deer in the road in time...

That being said, I think they look awesome.
Bravada G80 3.73 converted to selectable 4wd.
KingBird
Trail-Blazer

Name: Brian
Vehicle Year: 2002
Vehicle: Other GMT360/370
DriveTrain: 4WD w/ G80

by DirtyBacon04 » Fri Oct 30, 2015 5:42 am

As someone who isn't an electrician and is terrified of working with it.... I also think they look good, but may hinder functionality. I'm willing to bet those who claim it didn't effect light output didn't do a very scientific study. Then I'd be curious as to how long before the film burns off in spots.
Trans-Continental Trailblazer - 5th Award
Current Count of Transmission Rebuilds: 5.5
***The more you know, the less you need.***
USMC '07-'12
Dirty Bacon's Build
DirtyBacon04

Name: Michael
Vehicle Year: 2004

by Rickalicka18 » Fri Oct 30, 2015 7:56 am