Offroad Trailblazers and Envoys

No reverse lights

Something not working right?

by Hillbillybonez » Thu Jun 19, 2014 8:22 am

Ok, I did the search on the forum, I checked everything that yall had posted to others to check and they still will not work. I check the connections for the lights, replaced bulbs, checked fuses under the hood and in the fuse box under the back seat, when i use the key fob to lock or un-lock the tb the back up lights work. am I missing anything else that this could be? I asked the guys at Auto zone and they said the PNS could be the problem? Im not that technical with my tb like 99% of yall are but Im learning so any help would be appreciated.
Hillbillybonez

Name: Eric Ridenour
Vehicle Year: 2003
Vehicle: Chevrolet TrailBlazer
DriveTrain: 4WD

by Eredin » Thu Jun 19, 2014 9:17 am

It would seem the PCM actually controls the gear indication and then sends this to the BCM, instead of having a typical reverse switch like older cars. It also appears that #32 fuse in the rear fuse box is normally the culprit. Easiest way to check to see if the PCM is getting correct signal, would be to put it in Reverse and then see if your gear selection indicator reports the same. If not, then your gear selection indicator may be going out.
1988 Pontiac GTA WS6 - LSX Swap

2005 Chevrolet Trailblazer LT
2012 Chevrolet Cruze LT

Build Thread
Eredin
Trail-Blazer

Name: Caleb
Vehicle Year: 2005
DriveTrain: 4WD w/ G80

by The Roadie » Thu Jun 19, 2014 10:01 am

The fuse and lamps can't be the problem if the lamps flash with the keyfob. So it's pretty clear the PCM isn't getting the signal from the switch on the side of the transmission that reverse gear has been selected. And as you note, the PRNDL indicator on the gauge cluster won't be displaying "R" and that's the clue to look for.
The Roadie
Founder

Name: Bill Carton
Vehicle Year: 2004
Vehicle: GMC Envoy

by Hillbillybonez » Thu Jun 19, 2014 12:08 pm