Offroad Trailblazers and Envoys

Trailblazer 2003 LS 4x4

Dumping ground for offroad Trailblazer or Envoy general discussion.

by nicedude80 » Fri Feb 05, 2016 4:41 pm

Hello!

I am soon going to get a 2003 Trailblazer 4x4 LS. I really want to make it more of an offroader, but I am fairly new to auto modifications. I am thinking of a 3" lift from MarkMC. I have a few questions. My main aim is to have an offroader, that is great on the highway and easy to drive on the highway, but is also good for snow/ice and mud.

-As far as suspension modifications go, I want to keep it to a minimum. A lift and new springs, shocks, and struts. From what I know, this model has struts in the front and shocks in the back, correct? Where would be the best place to buy springs, shocks, and struts?

- I am not interested in taking off the sway bar or modifying anything too complicated. besides the lift, springs, shocks, and struts, is there anything I need to install, or that is a good idea to install?

-With a 3" lift, what spacers do I need, and what is the wheel and tire size that would be best? I would keep the stock wheels, and replace the tires. What are some good tires that fit stock wheels? I need them to be good for highway snow, ice, and rain. I also do not want to have to trim my bumper, as I think it looks horrible.

Thanks for help. This will be my first vehicle, and I am excited to make it into an amazing beast of a offroader.
nicedude80
Cruiser

Name: Jared
Vehicle Year: 2003
Vehicle: Chevrolet TrailBlazer
DriveTrain: 4WD

by tarsh » Fri Feb 05, 2016 4:57 pm

That 3" is perfect for you then. May want to extend the sway links in the front. Z71 rear coil springs tend to be the General consensus. There is a complete lift guild on here with options we've found work for the trailblazer. Give it a look. It will also give you the corresponding part numbers
Take the path less traveled
My Build Thread
tarsh
Trail-Blazer

Name: Nathan Schroeder
Vehicle Year: 2004